April 6, 2015

a8d380af66a01aa4e6d33a427fb33128

April 6, 2015

She said
“How do you love me?”

I said
“Like I am a bear and you are the Spring,
Like I am a desert and You are the Rain,
Like I am a fire and you are the Wind,
Like I am a compass and You are North.”

She said
“How long will you love me?”

I said
“When the last mountain turns to sand,
When the seven seas have all dried up,
When the last star, in the last galaxy
Flickers and winks out,
When I am less than dust,
My Love for you will still burn brightly…”

She said
“Don’t forget me”

I said

“Would a beach forget the sea?
Would a honeybee forget the flower?
Would a river forget its spring?
Would the Earth forget the Sun?”

~O~

© 2015 Martin Graham King
Image sourced on Pinterest (all rights remain with the creator)

Leave a Reply

