Sonnet for Lolita

Lolita is a 20-foot-long (6 m), 7,000 pounds (3,200 kg) Orca who has lived at the Miami Seaquarium since her capture in 1970.
In the wild she could swim 100 miles each and every day, but since she was captured the furthest she could swim is this ….

tank1

… A tank 60-by-80-foot (18 by 24 m) by 20 feet (6 m) deep.

Please look her up on Google and, if You find her situation as abhorrent as any right-minded person must, make your feelings known. Thank You ..

Sonnet for Lolita

As you scream and jeer at my confinement,
A wall and the sky are all I can see,
I am enslaved for your entertainment,
Forever denied my right to be free.
I feel like I am the last of my kind,
I’ve been alone for the thirty five years,
Since Hugo used the wall to smash his mind,
And put an end to all his unshed tears,
I jump through hoops, dance to your heartless tune,
As you gorge yourselves on hotdogs and coke
Then You leave me to my barren lagoon,
A lonely tragedy, that you think a joke,
Is there no-one who’ll listen to my song?
Forty five years a slave… and that’s just wrong.

~O~

Sonnet © 2015 Martin Graham King
Image sourced on Google Images (all rights remain with the creator)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lolita_(orca)

Leave a Reply

