Burning my cathedrals

image

I am burning my ancient cathedrals,
Exorcising the houses of false gods,
Razing the shrines, altars and feasting halls
In which I have prostrated myself, wet clods
Of my own shit on my knees like rank sods,

No more shall I worship the gods of greed,
Urging me to amass things I don’t need,
Gone the deity of traitorous doubt,
Who planted in my soul self-loathing’s seed,
False prophets, with a smile, I cast thee out.

~O~

Martin G. King © 2014
Image sourced on Google Images (all rights remain with the creator)

Leave a Reply

