The Perfection of Thee

image

I have known the perfection that is Thee,
Perfection I am sadly now denied
By time and space and someone who’s not me,
An interloper standing where I died
A loveless husk, reborn then a Lover,
Though life, in all it’s cold vicissitudes,
Took Thee away, I couldst ne’er get over
My Love for Thee and cherish those interludes
That brought Thee close to me, those wondrous times
So clear in my mind I hunger for more,
And so I write these verses and these rhymes,
My vain attempt at rapping on Thy door,
To tell of how my heart is full of Thee,
and how Thy man forever I shalt be.

~O~

Sonnet: Martin G. King ~ May 23, 2014
Image sourced on Google Images (all rights remain with the creator)

Leave a Reply

