Carnelian

image

 

Carnelian

A Sonnet to The One that got away.
Your tresses a rich, carnelian hue,
Lips so full and sweet to kiss, hips that sway
Atop legs a mile and a half long, You
My darling are The One that got away.
Your passionate heart beats so strong and true,
But not for me, I let You get away.
The brief taste I got of You spoiled my heart,
I refuse to settle for second best,
And so I’ll always hold myself apart,
Nursing the Love that burns within my breast,
You are oxygen to flames in a Heart
That glows like a hot coal both night and day,
For The One that I allowed to get away.

~O~

Sonnet by Martin G. King
Image by David Garcia Forés

2 thoughts on “Carnelian

Leave a Reply

