Sonnet 17

image

I cannot stop the screaming deep inside,
You KNOW in me a Poets Heart does beat,
that isn’t just a soulless lump of meat
I served to You still raw and warm, now fried
and burnt and torn and scarred and sorely tried
and charred to cinders on Rejections heat,
a part of me has died due to this feat,
this careless, thoughtless act, I cannot hide
behind a wall of silence any more,
the beauty You inspired in me is now
alike unto a whisper on the wind,
I’ll pour myself in this abyss no more,
this grieving that I feel I’ll not allow
to live in me, so You I now exscind.

~O~

© 2014 Martin G. King
Image sourced from Google Images

Leave a Reply

